Michigan Phone Number Lookup

Michigan Area Codes and Their Locations

Learning to recognize Michigan’s area codes and the areas they represent is a good way of screening potential spam calls. If the unknown number calling is from an area code where you have no connections, the choice not to answer the call is better informed. Michigan residents can also identify unknown callers by submitting their phone numbers for reverse phone lookup searches.

Listed below are the area codes in Michigan and the locations they represent:

313 - Location 989 - Location
517 - Location 269 - Location
616 - Location 947 - Location
906 - Location
810 - Location
734 - Location
248 - Location
231 - Location
586 - Location

Who Controls Michigan Area Codes?

The FCC gives every state the right to implement new area codes. In Michigan, that responsibility lies with the Michigan Public Service Commission. Since 1947, the commission has implemented 12 area codes, splitting out nine from the original three area codes. The decision to add new area codes is made when the demand for new phone lines outstrips the number available within an existing area code.

Where is Area Code 313?

Area code 313 is one of the first three area codes created in Michigan in 1947. It covers Wayne County, which is the most populous of Michigan’s counties. Within it are the cities of Detroit and Dearborn, Redford Township, and the Grosse Pointes.

Where is Area Code 517?

Area code 517 is another of Michigan’s first three area codes. It represents South Central Michigan, which comprises Lansing, Michigan’s capital city, as well as Jackson, East Lansing, Coldwater, Charlotte, Hillsdale, Howell, and Adrian.

Where is Area Code 616?

The third of Michigan’s first three area codes is 616. This area code represents Western Michigan, which covers the Grand Rapids, as well as the cities of Ionia, Grand Haven, Holland, Greenville, and Zeeland.

Where is Area Code 906?

Area code 906 was the first to be created, in 1961, after the original three from 1947. It split off from 616 and represents the Upper Peninsula, which holds the cities of Sault Sainte Marie, Marquette, St. Ignace, Escanaba, Munising, Iron Mountain, and Mackinac Island.

Where is Area Code 810?

Area code 810 was created in 1993 in a split from area code 313. It represents Lower Central Michigan and The Thumb, including the cities of Flint, Port Huron, Davison, Sandusky, Otisville, Lapeer, and Flushing.

Where is Area Code 734?

Area code 734 was formed in 1997 after being split from area code 313. It represents Western and Down River/Southeastern Michigan, which include Monroe, Ypsilanti, Wayne, and Ann Arbor.

Where is Area Code 248?

Area code 248 was created in 1997. It was split off from area code 810 and overlays area code 947. It represents Northern Metro Detroit, which contains all of Oakland County, as well as Northville and a good portion of Northville Township.

Where is Area Code 231?

Area code 231 was created in 1999 in a split from area code 616. It represents Upper Michigan, which includes Ludington, Traverse City, Petoskey, Cheboygan, Muskegon, and Big Rapids.

Where is Area Code 586?

Area code 586 was formed in 2001 after being split from area code 810. It represents Northeastern Metro Detroit, which covers the entire Macomb County.

Where is Area Code 989?

Area code 989 was also formed in 2001 in a split from 517. It represents Northeastern Lower Michigan and Flint, covering Mt. Pleasant, Alpena, Saginaw, Midland, Bay City, Gaylord, Owosso, and Bad Axe.

Where is Area Code 269?

Area Code 269 was formed in 2002 as a split from 616. It covers Southwestern Michigan, which includes Benton Harbor, Hastings, Battle Creek, Kalamazoo, and St. Joseph.

Where is Area Code 947?

Area code 947 was formed in 2002 as an overlay of 248. It represents Northern Metro Detroit.